Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.
2464 Discussions

Asynchronous message processing while maintaining single threaded support.

michaelmarcin
Beginner
I have a publish/subscribe system which is designed to allow for low coupling asynchronous communication between components. The best practices recommended by Intel, Herb Sutter, and others is to write code that can work single threaded but scale to multi/many threads without changing the code's logic.

TBB tasks and algorithms provide a nice way to achieve this for most jobs but AFAIK your work isn't guaranteed to get done until you wait for it much like futures. This makes a lot of sense to me but messages handling can be heavyweight and its completion doesn't cause any signals so I really don't care when it completes as long as it completes sometime and therefor I don't want to wait for it to do so when I publish it.

Since message handlers can publish other messages I can't safely run messages at the publish call in a single threaded program because this recursive publishing could cause the stack to overflow.

I have a main loop where I could wait for pending messages to complete (process to a high water mark?) publishing but this might create an unnecessary synchronization bottleneck for the multi-thread multi/many-core case. However, this is the best idea I can come up with.

I haven't worked much with multi-threaded or asynchronous operations before so I would like to get some feedback and perhaps suggestions for alternative designs.

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Dmitry_Vyukov
Valued Contributor I
MichaelMarcin: