Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Find cores of thread

Abdulsalam__Babu
Beginner

Hi

I'm new to TBB. I have a file reading function. It reads the files and fill into the structure passed as parameter to the function. I have a file X and when it is read, it takes nearly ~15 secs. I'm trying to read 4 times in a for parallel_for loop. I was expecting each read operation will be in a separate thread, and each thread will be in a different core [ my system has 12 physical cores and 24 logical cores ] , so it should be ~15 secs.

If I read it in normal for loop for 4 times, it takes ~57 secs. When I read in parallel_for ,it takes ~41 secs.

How can I see the threads are running in different cores? 

Is there any tool to check this? How about Intel Concurrency Checker? I could not find the download of ICC as well.

Looking for your feedback.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Aleksei_F_Intel
Employee

Hi Babu,

TBB is the library that emphasizes the work with algorithms rather than paying attention to
low-level details such as threads managing, work-to-thread mapping, etc. Usually the user tell the
library that there is a piece of work that can be done in parallel and the library squeezes as
maximum parallelism from it as possible, which is limited by number of cores a particular
workstation has, the number of threads to use by the library (equals to the number of logical
threads by default), work item dependencies, etc.

In your particular case, the task seems to be completely IO-bound. It means that CPU is mostly idle
while waiting for IO operations to complete. Even after file has been read, TBB worker thread also
does not compute anything (i.e. does not utilize CPU), but copying/moving read data from one memory
into another (fills in the structure), thus, the task becomes a memory-bound problem. Therefore, I
would not expect CPU is used much in this case.