Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Memory leak question (task scheduler)

oneminute
Beginner
Disclaimer: I am quite new to parallel theory and implementation

(Also I am using the Visual Leak Detector http://vld.codeplex.com/)

I recently started from scratch on a Win32 application where every component would be managed in a task scheduler. The first thing I decided to do was create a window and message handler task. I know this isn't exactly parallel-worthy, but I want to keep a consistent design where every component is a task, even if it doesn't have sub-tasks.

I run this code and the window is created fine and the message handler works - but I also get 10 memory leaks detected.

[cpp]int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
// Allocate our window task
WindowTask& windowTask = *new(task::allocate_root()) WindowTask(hInstance, 640, 480, L"Window Title");

// Spawn task
task::spawn_root_and_wait(windowTask);

Sleep(1000);

return 0;
}[/cpp]
Each callstack looks the same, except for a different number of "tbb::task_scheduler_int::default_num_threads" lines.

[plain]---------- Block 118 at 0x00378E60: 188 bytes ----------
Call Stack:
0x100095CA (File and line number not available): tbb::internal::NFS_Free
0x10009559 (File and line number not available): tbb::internal::NFS_Allocate
0x10017FB6 (File and line number not available): tbb::task_scheduler_init::default_num_threads
0x1001884D (File and line number not available): tbb::task_scheduler_init::default_num_threads
0x100177F1 (File and line number not available): tbb::task_scheduler_init::default_num_threads
0x1001185E (File and line number not available): tbb::internal::get_initial_auto_partitioner_divisor
0x100112CB (File and line number not available): tbb::internal::allocate_root_proxy::allocate