Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Question on tick_count

etc_26
Beginner
Hello all,

Browsing through tick_count.h, I was wondering why clock_gettime is called with CLOCK_REALTIME instead of CLOCK_REALTIME_HR. Since I have no experience with this call, this is probably a newbie question.

Additionally, I was wondering what the actual relationship between tick_count and the actual CPU tick counters is, since tick_count uses different timing calls for different cases/OSes.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Alexey-Kukanov
Employee

I checked man pages for clock_gettime on a system running Red Hat EL 3 (quite an old distro nowadays) and did not find CLOCK_REALTIME_HR there; neiherI found it referenced somewhere in /usr/include. Little googling gaveme a number of references to a kernel.org maillist posting saying that CLOCK_REALTIME_HR was removed a while ago.

There is no direct connection between tbb::tick_count and the actual tick count. As you correctly noticed, we rely on OS services to obtain a timer with good enough resolution. In case someone knows a better solution for a particular OS, it's the chance to contribute to TBB :)

0 Kudos
etc_26
Beginner
Thanks, Alexey!

I found CLOCK_REALTIME_HR in the man page for clock_getres in the Linux system I'm using:
# uname -a
Linux aa0-010-1.domain.com 2.6.20-1.2944.fc6 #1 SMP Tue Apr 10 17:46:00 EDT 2007 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

It is indeed not the latest version of Linux, so maybe as you suggest it's been removed in the meantime.