Intel vPro® Platform
Intel Manageability Forum for Intel® EMA, AMT, SCS & Manageability Commander
2827 Discussions

Static IP address in SCS console while client's IPv4 Ethernet addresses keep changing

MEbel
Beginner

I'm a system admin and had the task to configure the MEBx PW of our vPro clients.

Using SCS on a W2012R2 VM in DB mode (SQL2014 Express), all my clients are configured in 'Admin Control Mode'.

For newly configured clients, the remote admin PW can be retrieved from the DB. All of this works very well indeed.

Now I want to find out how I can take advantage of the AMT features.

My problem at this point: as the (internal) IP address of my clients changes, the console's 'Get configured password' function becomes a bit of a lottery. Typically it fails and the client's 'Connection Status' changes to 'Disconnected'.

My question: I suspect that my SCS console's inability to keep up with the ever changing IPv4 Ethernet port addresses of my clients is part of the problem?

Can anybody confirm this?

The (Lenovo) clients:

- Win10 x64 1703, BitLocker=ON

- The BIOS is up to date

- The IntelME firmware is up to date

- We have a disjoint DNS name space. I.e. the SCS server's name space is different from the client's.

- DNS resolution from SCS server to client and client to server works

- The errors I'm getting:

Finishing Get configured password for UUID:E8DD1901-5472-11CB-9746-BD924F82E988, With returned status: Initial connection to the Intel(R) AMT device failed. (0xc00007d2). A TCP error occurred. Make sure that the destination settings are correct and that a network connection exists to the target. (0xc000521c).

If there's anybody out there who can give me a hint, I'd be very grateful.

Martin

0 Kudos
14 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello Martin Ebell(marebe),

Are you using a Dedicated IP?

Do you get a specific error code like "91"