Intel vPro® Platform
Intel Manageability Forum for Intel® EMA, AMT, SCS & Manageability Commander
2835 Discussions

Vpro Authentication

idata
Employee

Hello,

I am new to Vpro and have quite a few questions. The scenario that I have, is that I need to get Vpro up and running using Active Directory integration. We are also using 8021x network security and this is the part that is causing me some consternation. I am far from being an expert in any of this, so please prepare your selves for some questions that may be fundamentally misguided or downright stupid.

When creating SCS profiles there are various passwords to consider but I am confused about them. For instance, if we take AD out of our thinking for a moment - am I correct in thinking that the MEBx password is the one that is used when performing a KVM session? So, if using VNC Plus, you have to enter the target AMT device admin id and password values? And this password has nothing to do with AD authentication, right? Or is the built in AMT device Admin account used? Or is this one and the same?

Now, thinking about AD integration, the AMT device is added into AD when it is provisioned. When a support engineer wants to remote control a computer that has I ssume that:

1. AD is used to check that the support agent has the rights to access the AMT AD object

2. If the support engineer does have the rights to the AMT AD object to, say, remote control using KVM, then he must enter the MEBx ID and password into VNC Plus to take control of the AMT device.