Items with no label
3335 Discussions

I accidentally set my resolution too high and now I only see a black screen

YKoba12
Beginner

I've been using my D34010WYK as an HTPC for a few years. I recently upgraded to a 4K TV. As a test to see if it can support 4K output, I used the Intel Graphic Control Panel thing to set it to 4K resolution. When I did that, I got a black screen and suprisingly, it did not adjust back to the original resolution after the usual 10~15 seconds.

Now every time I boot up, I get a black screen with a "no signal" message on the TV. I don't even see the boot loader screen. I know that the computer itself is running and I can log into Windows10. It's still functioning as a PLEX server so the only issue seems to be that it can't display anything.

Is there a way to revert the resolution back to 1080 without being able to see what's going on? I found this youtube video tutorial but it didn't work for me. In the comments section, others who changed the resolution via the Intel Control Panel seem to be struggling too.

It seems very strange that I'm getting the black screen right from boot-up (i.e. black screen even if I hit F2 for the bios). Any help would be much appreciated!!

0 Kudos
25 Replies
n_scott_pearson
Super User

Have you tried booting up in Safe Mode to see if you can reset it there?

...S

0 Kudos
YKoba12
Beginner

Thanks Scott. To be honest, I'm not sure how to boot into Safe Mode without being able to see what's going on. With Windows10, pressing F8 no longer takes you there (which I didn't realize until when I tried to do it last night). I could create a USB boot drive, but I think my bios is set up to boot directly into the SSD. I'm not sure about that last part - I can give it a whirl tonight

0 Kudos
YKoba12
Beginner

Apparently no luck.