Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12621 Discussions

SOPC + external Vhdl simulation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm programming 2 CycloneIII FPGAs (everything on PC, no HW), 

the 1st is simply a system of vhdl files interconnected each other, 

in the 2nd i've created a SOPC system as follows: 

SOPC = NIOS II processor + Memory + PIO + UART. 

i can easily run the "hello world" project with NIOS II C/C++ and then see the result but.. 

As i'm new to this type of creating full systems on FPGAs i'm facing some problems: 

i have to write a vhdl file to let the SOPC system communicate with the 1st FPGA, but i don't know how to simulate all the 2nd FPGA system(sopc + external vhdl):confused:. 

- i've tried to simulate all with modelsim but it doesn't work (is it possible to do something like this?) 

- i've tried to simulate everything with the NIOS II C/C++ but it does simulate only the SOPC system. 

I need to simulate the whole project in order to understand if it works fine! 

Can you please tell me how to do that? Or where i can find some examples?  

(the an531 because it doesn't consider any external vhdl file as i need, but only the SOPC simulation) 

Any suggestion will be helpfull.. ;) 

Thanks
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

How do you plan to communicate between the SOPC and the other custom hardware in the 2nd FPGA? 

I would try first to connect the custom hardware to the SOPC inside one FPGA for example over an AVALON MM interface. If that is verified (may be with reduced functionality) than you can implement the custom hardware in the other FPGA.