OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1719 Discussions

Code Builder missing VS breakpoints

PCox
Beginner

I'm working with code builder. I've been running happily for six months with the 2014 ocl applications SDK under VS2010. I thought I knew all the tricks to ensure kernel breakpoints were hit, but one (large) new project consistently fails to hit breakpoints. I figured I can't go to forums with an old version, so I tried installing INDE with the restricted options for just a Code Builder installation, but that just stripped out my old VS2010 code builder extensions. So I took a deep breath and installed the whole INDE, with the same results (later I noticed that INDE did install code builder extensions for VS2013: does it not work for 2010 anymore???).

Anyway sadly all in vain: still no breakpoints getting hit. Code builder has "Enable opencl kernel debugging' set, and the "Enable OpenCL API debugger" is also set, for what its worth. Work items are set for 0,0,0. Debugging is on the local machine. Kernels were built with the -g -s <source> option (no other options), and the source is certainly the right one. No offsets. Device is my local i7-4770. Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit. Latest Iris and HD graphics driver (15.36.19.64.4170). Haven't checked the OpenCL runtime, but presume that was updated with INDE..?

I have a one thread dummy kernel that just prints its local thread:

__kernel void debugTest()
{
    printf("%d\n",get_local_id(0));
}

The kernel dutifully runs and prints. It just ignores the breakpoint and completes normally.

Please am I missing anything?? Getting stressed.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
PCox
Beginner

0 Kudos
Oded_P_Intel
Employee