OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1718 Discussions

OpenCL on GPU programming

merlion_m_
Beginner

Hello, I'm new to Intel GPU and I'm trying to do some OpenCL programming on Graphics.

1. Is there the wavefront concept on Intel GPU? What is the proper work group size?

On AMD GPU, code is actually executed in groups of 64 threads. On Nvidia GPU, this number is 32. On 
Intel GPU, is this number is the number of EUs in one subslice multiplied by 7? I use the template 
in visual studio for OpenCL, and the group size is NULL. I don't know whether this influence the 
performance.

clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(ocl->commandQueue, ocl->kernel, 2, NULL, globalWorkSize, NULL, 0, NULL, 
NULL);

2. If I run a kernel many times, will the cache contains the data, just like C programming?

For example, If I run the following code, when the clEnqueueNDRangeKernel first start the kernel, 
data will be introduced from memory into cache. Then, If I run the kernel second time, and the data 
is the same. Can it reuse the data in the cache? I mean it doesn't need to get the data from the 
memory? Just like usual C/C++ programming.     Or in another situation, clEnqueueNDRangeKernel will 
empty the cache and need to reload the data again?

for(int i=0; i<100; i++){

clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(..Add...);

}

23 __kernel void Add(__global uint* pA, __global uint* pB, __global uint* pC){
 31     pC[id] = pA[id] + pB[id];
 32 }

3.When using clCreateBuffer, what's the difference between the flags "CL_MEM_READ_ONLY | 
CL_MEM_USE_HOST_PTR" and "CL_MEM_READ_ONLY "? Because I think they use the same memory. Then should 
they have the same speed?