OpenCL* for CPU
Ask questions and share information on Intel® SDK for OpenCL™ Applications and OpenCL™ implementations for Intel® CPU.
Announcements
This forum covers OpenCL* for CPU only. OpenCL* for GPU questions can be asked in the GPU Compute Software forum. Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™ questions can be ask in the FPGA Intel® High Level Design forum.
1719 Discussions

Working through OpenCL DSK example - where is the .sln file?

SailingDreams
New Contributor I

I'm new to MSVC (I've spent my life developing on linux) and so please excuse my ignorance on windows MSVC related questions.

My goal is to download opencl and work through an example. So I downloaded the SDK below and installed it on Windows 10

intel_sdk_for_opencl_applications_2020.3.494 

And then I opened the instructions in the installed file

IntelSWTools/system_studio_2020/documentation_2020/en/system_studio_2020/getting_started_iss_build.htm

In that file, it says to "browse to the location where you extracted the hello_world sample files and select the hello_world.sln file", but when I did so with MSVC, I couldn't find the .sln file. Nor could I find it using windows file explorer search.

The "hello_world" example exists in the Program Files directory as indicated, but there isn't a single .sln in the folder nor is there one in the entire "C:\Program Files (x86)\IntelSWTools\system_studio_2020" folder!

All I can find is .cproject and .project files.

Even in the hello_world folder has a readme.html that says to open the .sln file.

Where can I get the .sln files for MSVC so I can continue with this example?

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
cw_intel

Hi,

Sorry for that. On my machine I installed system studio, not only OpenCL SDK  but I didn't remember the specific version. And on my machine hello_world.sln exists in folder /opt/intel/system_studio_2020/samples_2020/hello_world.