Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14652 Discussions

Please help, for my normal temperature plsss...

idata
Employee

guys i have core i3 2100 3.10 Ghz. I wonder whats the normal temperature of this kind of processor, because as i monitor them in Coretemp ( i dont know how accurate this program is) it says 70-75 when playing games like HoN. Is this normal? Please also suggest a more accurate software for temp monitoring please thank you so much for any help sorry newbie here...

0 Kudos
5 Replies
idata
Employee

Your temps could vary based on the monitoring software, but HWMonitor and Intel Extreme Tuning utility also monitor temps if you need a second opinion. HWMonitor will keep track of your lowest, average and highest temps. You can get your idle, load and average temps with it.

Your temps depend on computer case air flow and CPU cooler in use. With decent case air flow using a stock Retail CPU cooler, your temps are bit high. With poor case air flow, your temps are probably accurate whether using the retail cooler or an aftermarket.

I'd recommend powering off the system and pulling slightly on the black tabs (retail cooler) to see if they pull back out. It's not uncommon to find a peg not fully pressed through. If you're using an aftermarket CPU cooler, you can remove it and see how the thermal paste dispersed. If the aftermarket cooler is sitting lop sided, the thermal paste will show you.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

How can i monitor CPU temps in intel tuning utility?

By the way, my max cpu temp when playing game like HoN is 65-75 and idle is 40-60.. is this normal? And sometime when i restart my computer, megatrends says cpu over temperature error i justg press F1 and it goes to bios, then i continue again to windows.. This is what troubles me.. so please tell me if my temps are safe or not. I am using coretemp..

0 Kudos
idata
Employee