Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
15274 Discussions

Pure GHZ of power from i7 3930K

idata
Employee

Hi all new to the forums.

I was hoping for some advice on what CPU to buy.

I'm a 3D artist and do a lot of rendering on my home PC which relies purely on ghz of power.

Currently I'm using a core 2 quad 2.4ghz

I'm not perfectly sure if I have this right but does that mean I have a total of 2.4ghz * 4 cores = 9.6ghz of power?

Anyway I've got around 500GBP to spend on my new CPU, I think I've decided on the i7 3930K

Which is 3.2ghz boosted to 3.8ghz in 6 cores with hyperthreading.

Does this then mean that I'd have 3.8ghz * 12 threads = 45.6ghz of power?

I know that some Xeons are designed more for rendering than the i7 however I think these are also over double the price.

Unless anyone can reccomend one for the same price that beats the raw power of the i7?

Cheers

Jay

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Adolfo_S_Intel2
Employee

3.8 GHz means that each core will be running at 3.8 GHz, so if for example you are running 4 different applications at the exact same time, it means that each application will be running at 3.8 GHz, but each core is independent of the other, so you cannot sum 3.8 + 3.8 + 3.8+ 3.8, since they are independent of each other.

However, if the 3D design application that you will be running is designed to take full advantage of the multi-core technology, then the system performance will be increased, however you need to contact the software developer so they can tell you if the software is capable of taking advantage of this feature.

idata
Employee

Hi, the software I use to render is autodesk Maya with Vray 2.0

The software actually has the option to choose how many cores/threads to use.

So I guess that means yes in total when rendering I will have 45.6GHz of power?

Take away a little for the power it's using to run windows..

0 Kudos
Adolfo_S_Intel2
Employee

Think about this scenario: