Processors
Processors (Intel® Core™, Intel® Xeon®, etc); processor utilities and programs (Intel® Processor Identification Utility, Intel® Extreme Tuning Utility, Intel® Easy Streaming Wizard, etc.)
12181 Discussions

i3-10100 - problem with drops of performance in programs and noise of the cooler

Piotr
Novice
1,957 Views

Dear Intel Community,

I have problem with my computer. I notice occasionally drops of performance. For example in Mozilla Thunderbird when I write mails my cursor is freeze for one or two second and I can't see in this moment what I wrote. So this is freeze when typing. In this time I have also runned youtube video in the background but this works ok, no stopping. I have also problem with performance sometimes in LibreOffice Calc. Very huge problem when I watch document and want to scroll the slider in right or left.

I don't know what is the problem and how I can diagnose this?


This is my specification:

CPU: i3-10100
Motherboard: Gigabyte H410M S2H

Disk: Kingston A2000 500 GB NVMe
RAM: 2x 8 GB 2666 Mhz
PSU: Seasonic Focus GX 550W
OS: Windows 10 20H2 64-bit

Can you help me with diagnose? How I can do this?



Second problem very frustrating me. I have problem with my Intel cooler. This is strange noise. I had in the past Intel product and this works normally but this cooler is very noise. This sound is strange. I thinking now about RMA for Intel cooler. Maybe Intel can send to me new cooler? I don't want to send CPU or cooler because if I will send to you I don't have second cooler so this will be stop work of my PC. Can you help me?


EDIT: I changed my power plan to "performance" and now in the IDLE my CPU have enabled Intel Turbo Boost but I noticed that sometimes my frequency is dropped below 3,8 Ghz. It is normal or this is issue?


I would like to download and test my processor with this software --> Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool but I can't see SHA256 checksum for .msi installer. Why you only upload outdated MD5 checksum?



Yours faithfully,
Piotr

0 Kudos
28 Replies
DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,447 Views

Hello Piotr,  

  


Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.   

  


In order to better assist you, please provide the following:  


  


1. Run the Intel® System Support Utility (Intel® SSU) to gather more details about the system.  

-https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25293/Intel-System-Support-Utility-for-Windows-


· Download the Intel® SSU and save the application on your computer  


· Open the application, check the "Everything" checkbox, and click "Scan" to see the system and device information. The Intel® SSU defaults to the "Summary View" on the output screen following the scan. Click the menu where it says "Summary" to change to "Detailed View".  


· To save your scan, click Next and click Save.  


  

2. Download the Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool and let me know if you presented any issues try to install it.

-https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792


3. Have you updated the BIOS?


4. Try with a minimal configuration. CPU>1 stick of RAM> no graphics card.


5. Have you updated your graphics drivers?


6. Have you changed the fan speed/modes at the BIOS?






Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 


Piotr
Novice
1,436 Views

1. Okay I will be install this but I want to send you information by RMA Customer Support but not in the community forum because these information here will be available public.

2. I have downloaded it but I can't find certification signature for the files. On the Intel website I can't find also SHA256 hashsum.  How can I verify files?

3. No, because it is a risky and Gigabyte have some problems with their website and I don't want to destroy my motherboard.

4. I have minimal configuration. I don't have GPU, I now use iGPU from Intel processor. I can only check with one RAM module but I don't have bluescreens so this is not RAM reason I think but maybe I am wrong?

5. No I didn't update it.

6. Yes, I changed for manual mode but my CPU is not overheating.

Please help me with the veryfication of the files.

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,421 Views

Hello Piotr, 



Thank you for the information provided. In this case, regarding the checksums, we can offer you the ones on the website (MD5), however, you can use any third-party tool (complete up to you to try it) to check the files or you can try the following:


1. Open Command Prompt.

2. Open your downloads folder by typing cd Downloads. If you saved the files in a different location, go there instead.

3. Type certutil -hashfile followed by the file name and then MD5.

4. Check that the value returned matches the value of the MD5 file you downloaded from the Bodhi website (and opened in Notepad)

5. If the values don't match then the file is not valid and you should download it again.



I will send you an e-mail to the e-mail address associated with your community profile. Please reply to the email in order to provide us with the report(s) to avoid exposing sensitive information in the communities.  


Also, you to discard possibilities, try to run all the pending updates from windows as well as the graphics drivers.




Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 



Piotr
Novice
1,416 Views

@DeividA_Intel  I know what is the procedure of checking hashsum but I want to use SHA256 for verification because MD5 is outdated, this is quote from wikipedia:

"The weaknesses of MD5 have been exploited in the field, most infamously by the Flame malware in 2012. The CMU Software Engineering Institute considers MD5 essentially "cryptographically broken and unsuitable for further use".[5]

As of 2019, MD5 continues to be widely used, in spite of its well-documented weaknesses and deprecation by security experts.[6]"


I don't know why Intel still use outdated MD5. Can you tell me what is the SHA256 checksum for the files? This must be checksum verified in the server because of possibly MITM attack.


Can you tell me?


P.S. I updated Graphic drivers by Windows Update to the newest version.

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,399 Views

Hello Piotr, 



Thank you for the clarification, and I understand if you do not feel comfortable sharing the information on this thread, I will check for this checksum for you. However, I would like to proceed with full research of this situation with your processor and for that, I will appreciate it if you help me with the following since we do not have the reports:


1. What is your BIOS version?

2. Do you present the same behavior with other programs or games?

3. What is the behavior of the task manager? Take pictures or a video.

4. If possible, take a video of the issue on any of the program/apps that you mentioned

5. Is this issue recent or did you notice it since the first time you use the computer?



Also, as a friendly reminder, if you do not feel comfortable sharing some kind of information here (which is completely understandable) remember that you can always get in contact with us directly, and for that, you can use the link that better works for you:



1. US Canada: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support.html#@11

2. Europe, Middle East, and Africa: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/emea-contact.html

3. Asia-Pacific: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/apac-contact.html

4. Latin America: https://www.intel.la/content/www/xl/es/support/contact-support/lar-contact.html




Regards,  


 

Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician


Piotr
Novice
1,394 Views

1. BIOS version is F3.
2. I have also problem on the desktop in Windows 10. For example when I used right click of the mouse and next choosed refresh option for icons of the desktop sometimes window is not showed but I can see that my cursor is busy (circle is spinning) for two seconds. So sometimes programs doesn't run fast but I can see circle spinning (cursor busy). Sorry if you don't understand. My english is not the best. I have also low performance sometimes in Mozilla Firefox or like I said on Mozilla Thunderbird. What is mean? Websites are not fast responsible. I also have problems in Portal 2 game. I have drop of fps but I don't have external graphic card, I still use GPU from my CPU unit so maybe this is reason with drop of fps in the games. But on programs these freezes shouldn't be there.

3. I use a lot of task manager. My CPU unit in this moment not have high usage (maybe 10-20 %), this same situation for SSD disk. I will do image and I will return with this for you.

4. Okay, I will try but this issue is randomly showed so this can be difficult.

5.  Yes, I noticed  this is since the first time. I didn't return my computer because I thinked that HDD drive is bottleneck so I thinked that when I will buy SSD disk this issue will be gone but I was wrong.

In this weekend I will try also reinstall my operating system and maybe I will try another operating system. Maybe this can help but like I said I have new computer and this issue is from begin.

I also have big problem with Mozilla Firefox program. Some websites can't load but on other browsers these websites works fine . One person on bugzilla think that this can be hardware problem. I don't know if he have right but I tried this same website on another computer with this same version of Mozilla Firefox and this works fine so this can be problem with my machine. I don't know if it hardware problem or it is problem with BIOS. How do you think? I can do update BIOS but this I will do if everything else will not fix my issue. Why? Because updating BIOS is risky. I don't have dual BIOS feature and Gigabyte don't want tell me what is checksum for the file with BIOS. I don't know why they don't want do this.

This is my post with this issue (my nick is "piotr"): https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1696836

P.S. If I will get SHA256 checksum I will do report for you. It is very important for me to diagnose this problem and fix this. I will be very apreciate if we can fix my issue.

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,386 Views

Hello Piotr, 


   


Thank you for the information provided 


  


I will proceed to check the issue internally and post back soon with more details. 


  


Best regards, 


Deivid A.  

Intel Customer Support Technician 


DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,375 Views

Hello Piotr, 



I would like to let you that our tools are secured, and they have been signed and approved by Microsoft. If you want, you can run a hash (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/microsoft.powershell.utility/get-filehash?view=po...) to confirm that our tools are legit and have not been modified or altered.


Also, if you do not feel comfortable running the tools, I would like to check the following:


1. Try to update the BIOS ( https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/H410M-S2H-rev-10/support#support-dl-bios)

2. Check if turbo boost is enabled at the BIOS.

3. Check if the colling solution is installed properly and with thermal paste.

4. Try to check for driver updates from your motherboard manufacturer.

5. If you want, you can take the computer to a repair store.


To troubleshoot the FPS drops, you may want to check the following links:


1.https://www.intel.la/content/www/xl/es/gaming/resources/how-to-fix-your-low-frame-rate.html

2.https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000030302/graphics.html


If you would like to ask for a replacement or check for personal support, do not hesitate to get in contact with us directly.




Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 


Piotr
Novice
1,366 Views

Dear DeividA_Intel,


You don't have right if we talk about signification from Microsoft because this tool don't have this:

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792

Can you write what is the checksum? Of the Intel website I can see only outdated MD5. I want to use this software.

1. I will update BIOS in last step. I want to avoid this if it is possible.
2. How I can check this? I think that is enabled because if it will be not my CPU can't work higher frequency than 3,6 Ghz. My CPU easily work at 3,8 and above.
3. This is okay. I mounted cooler myself and my CPU is cool - max 60 degrees Celsius.
4. I updated drivers and this doesn't help

5. What you mean? I will be paying for diagnose because my PC was build from components. I doesn't buy computer from manufacturer like Acer itd.



I have problem with CPU cooler but don't with work of cooler but with noise. When I will run game and my CPU will work above 50% cooler is very noise and I can see squeak. I think that this is squek from the cooler because if my CPU is in the idle and I will change manually cooler to 100% rpm this noise and squek returns but my CPU is not loaded, is in the idle so this is problem with the sound of the cooler.

Thank you for your time.

Your faithfully,
Piotr

Piotr
Novice
1,342 Views

I checked SHA256 for  this program --> https://downloadcenter.intel.com/pl/download/19792/Intel-Processor-Diagnostic-Tool

This is result --> fafe723c3ff07086183693bee910f8240aed9b1b6698008c0410dbc2f95ccae4

Can you tell me if it is okay? File is not corrupted? I mean this file IPDT_Installer_4.1.5.37_64bit.msi


I did report on SSU.exe but I don't know how I can send to you  safely?

Alberto_Sykes
Employee
1,322 Views

Piotr, Thank you very much for providing that information.


I will send you an email so you can reply to it with the SSU report. All the information in that email will be confidential.


Regards,

Albert R.


Intel Customer Support Technician


Piotr
Novice
1,312 Views

Mr Alberto_R_Intel1,

I can see that yesterday I got message from Mr. Deivid A.

I reply to this message with the question, next I will be send report if I will get answer. I have some important question so I hope that you can answer me.

Yours faithfully,
Piotr

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,293 Views

Hello Piotr,


I just reply to you email, I do appreciate you comprehension of this. I will be waiting for your response to the email.


Remember that if you would like to warranty options or about the process you can get in contact with us:


1. US Canada: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support.html#@11

2. Europe, Middle East, and Africa: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/emea-contact.html

3. Asia-Pacific: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/apac-contact.html

4. Latin America: https://www.intel.la/content/www/xl/es/support/contact-support/lar-contact.html




Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 



Piotr
Novice
1,279 Views

Dear DeividA_Intel,

Thank you for your message. I want to use IPDT to make test but I can see strange date in proporties of the file and this file don't have digital signatures. This is normal? I sended print screen. I hope that you will answer me.

Yours faithfully,
Piotr

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,260 Views

Hello Piotr, 



I would like to let you know that if you downloaded the tool from this link https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/19792, all the information is correct and safe for you to use.


However, I understand if you do not feel comfortable sending the information and/or running some Intel tools. If that is the case, we can provide you with a call back to perform a remote session (if you agree I will ask for the information needed through an email) or you can use one of the following links to get in contact with us:



1. US Canada: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support.html#@11

2. Europe, Middle East, and Africa: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/emea-contact.html

3. Asia-Pacific: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/contact-support/apac-contact.html

4. Latin America: https://www.intel.la/content/www/xl/es/support/contact-support/lar-contact.html





Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 


Piotr
Novice
1,235 Views

Mr DeividA_Intel,

Today I make test with IPDT program. All test are passes but I noticed something strange with CPU frequency on task manager while this test. CPU was 100% use but sometimes I noticed that speed was 0,00 Ghz but on the graphic (diagram) I can' see drop so this can be issue or bug on task manager. I wanted to do photo or video but this was maybe two or fourth time for one second and I didn't have time to take a photo.


So I want to send to you full report. I can do this by "
My Support" on Intel website? This is more secure than by e-mail? Can you tell me?

Yours faithfully,
Piotr

Piotr
Novice
1,223 Views

Dear Intel Community,

I would like to know about IPDT program. This is better than Prime95 or OCCT? I didn't use yet Prime95 and OCCT because this are 3rd party program but I would like to know if I did the test in IPDT is it enough to diagnose?

Yours faithfully,
Piotr

DeividA_Intel
Moderator
1,217 Views

Hello Piotr,


I just reply to the internal response, and for Intel's purpose, we use our tool since they are safe and validated by Microsoft. However, you can use the tool and programs that you want but we cannot assure that are going to work or if they are safe since they are third-party tools.



Regards,  


Deivid A. 

Intel Customer Support Technician 


Piotr
Novice
1,193 Views

Dear Mr DeividA_Intel,

I asked you on the same by e-mail. Can you read my files if I will upload this on the Intel webiste (Intel case section)? It is better way than e-mail? My address e-mail domain it not the best. You can answer me by e-mail. I write this question on this place too for better comunication.


Yours faithfully,
Piotr

Piotr
Novice
1,152 Views

Dear Mr DeividA_Intel,

Today at 11:10 P.M. I noticed strange issue. I noticed black screen for few second. I thinked that my drivers can update but my operating system doesn't inform me about that. How can I check if my drivers for CPU was updated today? Maybe this is problem and can help with diagnose.

Yours faithfully,
Piotr

Reply