Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20702 Discussions

10M50DA clock frequency PLL in EPE

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi ALTERA-forum, 

I am new to the FPGA design and now want to start with the EPE. Now I have two problems. One with the frequencies and another with the dissipation. 

1. I want to use the 10M16DA F484 because of the DDR3 interface support. 

Now I want to calculate the estimated power dissipation. Probably later I will switch to a higher FPGA like the 10M50DA F484. To calculate the worst case power dissipation, I decided to use the EPE and the 10M50DA model. 

At this point it is not known what the FPGA will do in the future so no design is ready at this point. 

So using the Quartus for all the data is no solution. 

Nevertheless I am a bit confused with the EPE and the maximum Clock and PLL frequency. 

So I looked up alot datasheets when I was reading the handbook/guide for the EPE.  

I stopped when I was looking for the max frequencies. For the PLL it is given in the sheet for the clock and PLL. It is 1300MHz like the EPE said. 

But for the clock the maximum frequency is not given in the sheets. Only the EPE is given out a warning that the max frequency is 600MHz. So how is the frequency calculated or where can I find this hint/data in the datasheets? I looked up every sheet which is recommended to the EPE or the datasheet of the MAX10 but I cant find this value.  

Please can anyone help me? 

2. I called the ALTERA support and get the EPE filled up with some data which are a bit irreal (the support said it). But its ok because I wanted it so for the worst case. For example it is really unrealistic that all LEs are toggling at the same time. 

So I looked up his data and filled in my own. At the end my electrical Power was round about 7W.