Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Altera DE2 read input from a weight sensor's HX711 ADC

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

question: 

Would it be possible and feasible for a beginner to use Verilog HDL and an Altera DE2 board to read input from a weight sensor's HX711 ADC (see below), and if so: 

• What kind of data am I reading? 

• Where/how do I connect it? 

(I suppose that "is it possible/feasible for a beginner" could be too vague for this forum, but the two bullet points above are the real question.) 

Alternatively, if it's not possible/feasible, what would I need to look for in an Arduino microcontroller to use the HX711, in terms of minimum requirements (for the cheapest possible solution)? I believe I could connect an Arduino board to the DE2 via USB (though I wouldn't know what to do with that either). 

context: 

I'm a computer science student, working on a final project for a basic (and very rushed) hardware course. I have little to no prior experience with electrical engineering. 

For my project, I'm required to either use Verilog HDL or MIPS Assembly Language -- and I'm far more familiar with Verilog at this point. 

I am using an Altera DE2 educational board (with Cyclone® II 2C35 FPGA):  

https://www.altera.com/solutions/partners/partner-profile/terasic-inc-/board/altera-de2-115-development-and-education-board.html 

https://alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=14688&stc=1  

For my project, I'm trying to build a system that can detect the amount of liquid in a container, can be calibrated for any similarly-sized container, and then can (theoretically) fill the cup to the appropriate level, or at least calculate the amount of liquid needed to fill it.