Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20726 Discussions

CYCLONE V Starter Kit to AFE5809EVM

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm new to Altera devices, so excuse my simple question. 

Can the Cyclone V Starter Kit connect to the AFE5809EVM via the HSMC connectors? 

To simplify, I wish to use the Cyclone V to read the LVDS serialised data from the AFE509EVM. Both PCB's have HSMC connectors so can they simply be connected with an appropriate HSMC cable? 

I only require ONE (1) channel from the AFE5809EVM, so its only two wires I am talking about here. 

Thank you, 

Brett Neale
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

No, I'm afraid it doesn't look like it. The AFE5809EVM module has a narrower version of the Samtec connector as compared to Altera's HSMC. Also, the connectors are board-to-board (mezzanine) connectors and not intended to be connected via a cable. 

You'll have to find another way of connecting the ADC to the FPGA. 

Regards, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

No, I'm afraid it doesn't look like it. The AFE5809EVM module has a narrower version of the Samtec connector as compared to Altera's HSMC. Also, the connectors are board-to-board (mezzanine) connectors and not intended to be connected via a cable. 

Regards, 

Alex 

--- Quote End ---  

Thank you for the reply. 

I full understand that LVDS uses matched length pairs, and can be susceptible to skew based on differing trace lengths, and can also be affected by trace thichkness, trace capacitance and mutual inductance. 

This bring me to my next (possibly stupid) question. 

My project is this: Use 2 channels from AFE5809 to sample analogue quantity. Capture quantity and assemble into a packet data to send out via ethernet.