Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20724 Discussions

Cyclone 10 LP KIT - Ethernet MAC and RAM byte-level access

vmetodiev
Novice

Hello,

I am a beginner in the Quartus environment and FPGAs in general, trying to figure out how to get byte-level operations from the IPcores for the Ethernet PHY (XWAY PHY11G) and the onboard RAM of the Cyclone 10 LP kit.

I have tried the Ethernet MAC project

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/design-example/714768/cyclone-10-lp-intel-fpga-triple-speed-ethernet-and-intel-on-board-phy-chip-reference-design.html?

but I did not manage to "interface" the input/output with my custom Verilog code.

The same is with the Hyperbus RAM. There is an example

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/design-example/715001/cyclone-10-lp-s-labs-hyperbus-memory-controller-ip-tutorial-003.html?

but I cannot figure out how to use the RAM independently, without the NIOS-II soft processor.

May someone advise how to "extract" the byte-level operations from the Ethernet MAC and the Hyperbus RAM IPcores, without any additional code and automation scripts?

I need to receive Ethernet frames and store them in the memory. I imagine to have access to all the necessary clock/strobes and implement my logic in Verilog, without any soft-cores and high-level abstractions. 

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ZiYing_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Thanks for submitting the issue.

Please do let me have some time to investigate on your case and I will get back to you with findings.

Best regards,

Zi Ying

ZiYing_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Are there any error messages that you could provide to us as you can't interface the input/output with your custom verilog?

Best regards,

Zi Ying

vmetodiev
Novice

Hi Zi,

First of all, thank you for your help and immediate response!