Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20789 Discussions

Cyclone III: Cannot Access JTAG Chain

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys, 

I am new to FPGAs and I have been playing with my Cyclone III. I was experimenting different sample codes such as the power measurement code and everything worked fine. When I tried to upload some new code however, the programmer shows me the "cannot access JTAG chain" error. I don't know why this is happening as I have hardly touched my dev board. I have once taken off the lid for the JP5 pin and all the LEDs went off, but as soon as I put the lid back on, the LEDs came back alive as before. Does this have anything to do with it? Other than that, I really don't know why this is happening. 

Thanks!
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Nevermind. I also put the lid on the JP8 pin and shut off the USB-Blaster enable. It's good again!

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I wonder if you (or anyone) could elaborate a bit more on this problem. I have a Cyclone III Development Board that is giving me the "Can't Access JTAG Chain" problem when I try to program it. I am simply trying to program it with the "my first FPGA" SOF file over the USB Blaster connection. I have tried both JTAG and Passive Serial modes. In Passive Serial mode I get a different error: "Unable to reset device before configuration" 

There is nothing in any of the documentation I've seen so far that gives any hints as to what to try or check when this kind of problem happens, so I'm at a bit of a loss. 

My board does not have anything on it with a designator that starts with "JP" so I'm not sure if we are using the same board or not. I configured the SW3 and SW1 switches exactly as specified in the documentation that came with the board. There are jumpers on J6 and J7, right where they were when I unpacked the board. There are no other jumpers on the board.