Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20932 Discussions

Cyclone V GX Starter Kit - Audio Codec

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I have recently purchased a Cyclone V GX Starter Kit (https://c5g.terasic.com) which includes an onboard Audio Codec chip (SSM2603). I am fairly new to FPGA's, used them a bit in school and just trying to create something interesting as a hobby. 

I have not had any luck producing any sound with this board yet. I found some verilog code online for the DE2 board which i used to come up with verilog code to try to make a simple beep on my board. The DE2 board has a Wolfson WM8731 audio codec chip, which looking at the datasheet is very similar to the SSM2603, I may have tweaked a few things. 

I am wondering if anyone has verilog/VHDL code implementing very basic sound output with this SSM2603 audio codec (or the wolfson wm8731) that they would be willing to share so that i can dissect and understand? There is an audio demo for the C5G board on the website, but it uses a lot of advanced features of Quartus, gets into IP cores and everything and is not very basic. I would prefer to have a look at something purely just HDL code and simple. 

Alternatively, if anyone is willing to have a look at my code and perhaps see what is wrong (I'm sure much is wrong, but specifically what is not allowing me to play a beep :)) I have attached it.  

It is fairly basic.. I use altera_pll to generate an 18.432MHz clock. I then try to communicate via I2C to the SSM2603 to configure everything. Various clock signals are generated, and I generate an audio output signal which is a 400Hz square wave. 

If anyone could help in either way it would be greatly appreciated! I am probably missing something fundamental here.. it has been frustrating trying to figure out what is wrong. 

Thank you.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You have to start with QSys.. no simpler way

0 Kudos