Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20750 Discussions

Help with verilog code, calculator

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, i don't know if this is the correct place to put this post, if not, please move it! 

I'm a newbie when it comes to programming in Verilog, I'm currently working on a final project for my class in school. I'm doing a calculator. This is not an advanced calculator, and its solved in a different way than what i think you normally do. Anyway, I'm using the DE2 board, and my problem is concerning the division. 

always@(negedge key3) begin div_summa1=((siffra1*10)+siffra2); div_summa2=((siffra3*10)+siffra4); if(div_summa1<1 | div_summa2<1) begin div_ental=0; div_tiotal=0; end else if(div_summa1<10 & div_summa1>0 & div_summa2<10 & div_summa2>0) div_ental=(div_summa1/div_summa2); else begin if((div_summa1/div_summa2)<10) div_ental=div_summa1/div_summa2; else begin div_tiotal=(div_summa1/div_summa2)/10; div_ental=(div_summa1/div_summa2)-(((div_summa1/div_summa2)/10)*10); div_summa3=((((siffra1*10)+siffra2)/((siffra3*10)+siffra4))-((div_tiotal*10)+div_ental))*10+1; end end endI think it might be hard to understand from this part of the code without much of an explanation but maybe you don't have to understand.  

I'm letting the user enter each numbers with 4 switches binary. And i convert it directly. So if you wanna enter 45... you enter a 4 binary first, which then directly gets converted to 4 decimal, and then i take it times 10 in the program and so on...