Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Implementing LVDS transmitter in altera EP4CGX15 - Basic information

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all - 

I am a beginner implementing LVDS transmitter on a EP4CGX15 device with 4 data pairs and 1 clock pair. 

The data sheet tells me that bank 5 and 6 can generate true LVDS without the need for the extra resistors used in emulated LVDS. So I was going to use the IOs in bank 6. 

I want to get things cleared so that I don't have to spin the board more than once. 

Questions 

1) Looks like ALTLVDS can be used to generate the necessary signals. I have chosen 4 diffio pairs for the data part. Say DIFFIO_(R1,R2,R3,R4) . Is this a valid assignment ? 

2) Which type of pins can I use for clk pair output of the lvds . ( PLL_CLKOUT ? It seems DIFFCLKx pins are input pins.)  

3) Does ALTLVDS generate the necessary clock output automatically based on my input specifications ? what is the reference clock it uses to generate it from ? 

4) Generally does altera fpga need a XTAL to feed its reference clock(general chip functioning) or it can generate it within itself ? 

Appreciate if anybody can answer these questions. 

Thanks 

JP
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The best way to answer some of your questions is to put together a sample project and run it through Quartus. Bank 6 looks like a good choice, allowing you to drive True LVDS. 

1) Yes, ALTLVDS_TX is the primitive to use to drive LVDS signals from the FPGA. Providing you've chosen DIFFIO pins then you should be OK. However, if you're assigning any other single ended signals in the vicinity of these LVDS signals, Quartus may well complain about cross talk and not fit your design. 

2) Yes, PLL_CLKOUT will drive a clock out of the FPGA. Those pins have the added advantage that the source of that clock can be from a PLL. (DIFFCLK pins are input only).