Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20729 Discussions

PI controller in VHDL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm trying to implement a PI controller in VHDL. where i tried a lot but i failed 

Please, can any one help me to achieve this task where i'm new in this field.
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

what code are you struggling with?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have done sort of PI that consisted of two branches only (proportional and integral parts). I used it for phase error control in a receiver carrier tracking. 

It was very simple in vhdl (but have the code misplaced). 

The proportional part is just a multiplier; you multiply the error(input) by a constant (I used .1 ~ 200). 

The integral part is just an acuumulator; you add up the error nonstop and hopefully will not overflow. You will need to add a term here to decide how much to feedback = leakage (e.g. .001 ~ 1), again needs multiplier in the accumulator loop. 

The two branches are just added up. 

Testing is more difficult and best is in-system testing
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks very much for your replies. 

thanks Kaz i understand the proportional term but rely i didn't understand the integral term. 

can you explain it again and with its equation? 

note: for the proportional term there no value for sampling time.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i would like to tell you the equation of PI controller that i used: 

u(k)=u(k-1) + err(k)*(kp +(ki*ts/2)) + err(k-1) * ( (ki*ts/2) - kp) 

where:  

u : is the output of controller. 

err: error signal that injected to the controller. 

kp: proportional constant. 

ki : integral constant. 

ts : sampling time.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I believe your equation is different from what described previously about my experience. 

I had a go at it and hope it is correct. see attached diagram.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum