Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20644 Discussions

QuartusII doesn't auto assign pins for CycloneV

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to the FPGA world and am currently using Quartus II 12.0. I am working with the Cyclone V device. 

I need the tool to auto assign the pins and i should be able to see the location in the pin planner window. But I dont see the tool assigning any pin. 

I need the auto assign feature as I need to handover the map to the schematic designer so that he can reroute and place some pins accordingly. 

Please suggest steps for the above problem. 

Thanks, 

Sanjana
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If you don't specify which pins Quartus is to use it will assign them. You'll find them in the 'Fitter Location' column in the Pin Planner. If you can't see the column it may be off your screen to the right or not visible. If it's not visible, right-click on a column heading and add the Fitter Location column to the table. 

The pinout is also captured in the .pin file. This will either be in your main project directory or, with newer version of Quartus, in the 'output_files' sub-directory. 

If you're committing to a PCB based on this pinout, be sure to Back-annotate the pinout in your project, so it doesn't change after the next compile. Under the 'Assignments' menu, select 'Back-Annotate Assignements...'. 

Cheers, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I dont see the "fitter location" among all the other options. The .pin file is not getting generated and also thefit.rpt file assigns the signal to pads. Eg: 

+------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+ 

; Input Pins ;