Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

Ris/fall time?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am developing a simple test board for a cyclone FPGA (EP2C8T144). It is my very first FPGA project, and I want to build my own FPGA board. 

Now, my question is: 

Which rise and fall times can I expect on any I/O pin of the FPGA? I am not using LVDS. I just use simple 3.3V LVCMOS. 

The problem is, that there will be reflections on longer tracks on the PCB, if the rise time is too short. How can I calculate the maximum allowed track length if I know the driver strength of the I/O pin (4 mA)? 

Hope, somebody can help me! This would be very great. 

Thanks a lot in advance and excuse my bad english (I am a student in Switzerland) :D
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I suggest you to avoid connecting the FPGA output pins to input pins of the device that you are driving. Put a small series resistor (22ohm or 33ohm) in every track and you will avoid this kind of reflection problems independently of the track length.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello OrchestraDirector, 

thanks for your answer. The device which I am driving with the FPGA is an ARM7 microcontroller (the FPGA is attached to the micro's memory bus). 

How long can I make the trace length, if I don't put any resistors in the tracks? Longest track is ~25 mm. Will this work if I program driver strength to minimum? I don't need very fast I/O (I'm working with low frequencies).
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, if your frequencies are low enough (let's say under 50MHz) you can go on without series resistors also with 25mm, with higher frequencies a resistor array of 22ohm is recommendable.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear OrchestraDirector,