Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

migrate existing firmware from cyclone IV to cyclone V

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Everyone, 

This is my first time posting. 

Although I've been using Quartus for almost a year, the tool is so complex that I always seem to have questions about it.  

I am migrating firmware written for cyclone IV to the cyclone V and I get this series of errors.  

Error (292019): Core FIR_Compiler (6AF7_0012) is not enabled for current device family 

Error (292019): Core FIR_Compiler (6AF7_0012) is not enabled for current device family 

Error (10003): Can't open encrypted VHDL or Verilog HDL file "C:/Users/lam.vo/DATA/Work/projects_Fuze/1203_nextGen_Prox/firmware/fir_compiler-library/auk_dspip_lib_pkg_fir_121.vhd" -- current license file does not contain a valid license for encrypted file 

Error (10003): Can't open encrypted VHDL or Verilog HDL file "C:/Users/lam.vo/DATA/Work/projects_Fuze/1203_nextGen_Prox/firmware/fir_compiler-library/auk_dspip_math_pkg_fir_121.vhd" -- current license file does not contain a valid license for encrypted file 

Error: Quartus II 64-Bit Analysis & Synthesis was unsuccessful. 6 errors, 1 warning 

Error: Peak virtual memory: 540 megabytes 

Error: Processing ended: Tue Jan 14 11:06:49 2014 

Error: Elapsed time: 00:00:05 

Error: Total CPU time (on all processors): 00:00:04 

I am sort of at a loss, and don't know where to turn. If anyone can at least point me in the right direction, I would very much appreciate it.  

Thanks!
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I believe you need to regenerate your FIR filter with FIR_COMPILER II. FIR_COMPILER is being obsoleted and may not be supported in the latest software versions or latest devices. 

--- Quote Start ---  

Altera recommends the use of FIR Compiler II MegaCore® function for new designs. The FIR Compiler II MegaCore function provides significantly