Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

usb interfacing

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi everyone, 

i am new to fpga. 

but, i know how to prepare verilog file in quartus2 software. i want use the usb port in altera de2 board for tranfering ang receiving data from pc. 

but, i don't know exactly what to do. 

please help me.  

thank you.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What is your system and what are you planning to do with it?  

You can write the controller yourself or you can find IP of someone who has done this for you. Alternatively you could use a softcore to handle the control
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Having your computer detect your fpga as a USB device directly is much too complicated for a beginner.  

Use a serial port. Your dev board might already have a serial to USB converter on it. Some boards have a serial connector. For this you will need an external serial to USB cable. If you are using a board with neither, consult with someone about finding c converter that won't damage your board when you connect it to gpio pins. This might be a level shifter followed by an serial to USB converter.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20570 

You should be able to piece things together just by googling for DE2 and ISP1362 to find articles similar to the link above.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

to transfer data from de2 board to pc what are the steps i have to fallow.means usb port of fpga is connected to processor through isp1362 ic. i have to programme  

only this ic or anything i should do to transfer data. 

please help me in this format. Is is compulsory to build a system using sopc builder. if yes,what are the components that i have to initiate in sopc builder and to correlate all of them.if no, what simple i can do.  

thank you.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II