Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Any documentation on virtual world box vs. real world box of developing RealSense application in Unity?

baolin_s_
Beginner

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started to using RealSense to develop some tracking applications in Unity (starting from the AR Mirror sample). I came across this old post https://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/realsense/topic/537053 when I'm trying to fix the jerkily moving objects in the AR Mirror example ... but I don't quite understand how the virtual world box is supported to work. Would anyone please help me understand it or point me any reference to it?

Thanks,

-BS

0 Kudos
2 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Hi Baolin!  I'll give you a summary about the Virtual World Box.

*  It provides a barrier around an object containing a TrackingAction that defines how far that object can move before it is stopped.  Think of it like a sci-fi forcefield, except that instead of stopping things from getting near to your object, it stops your object from leaving the field. 

*  You will most commonly see its effects in objects whose constraints are set so that it can move its Position around (e.g up-down-left-right).  With objects that are constrained to be fixed on the spot (by having all Position constraints ticked) and rotate, the box tends to be useless.  This is because, as the object is rotating around on the spot, it is unable to touch the sides of the Virtual World Box surrounding it.

*  Regarding the Virtual World Box's default values of 100,100, 100, what this is basically saying is that you are telling Unity to draw a box of size 100 cm wide, 100 cm long and 100 cm tall around your object.