Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Calling DLL's From VBScript/ASP

maria14
Novice
Hello,

I have a bunch of DLL?s, which are called from a Visual Basic front end. The DLL?s are linked against a large number of static libraries and a couple of block data commons. Everything works great, but now there is a need to change the Visual Basic front end to a web-based front end, which uses ASP via VBScript. Now, I read in this forum that VBScript is a subset of the full VB language and that one cannot call DLL?s from VBScript.

Somebody else will be developing the web-based front end, but I need to know exactly what to do with my DLL?s. Do I have to convert each one of them into a COM DLL? Currently, I pass to my DLL?s character, integer, and real arguments only, and each DLL has close to 50 arguments. I would like to avoid the use of arrays.

I would appreciate any suggestions, since I am not familiar with the use of COM objects. I am just starting to learn about them using CVF on-line documentation. What steps are involved on the Fortran side in going from VB front end to VBScript? Are there any other options for my application besides using COM DLL?s?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Maria.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
rahzan
Novice
Comz the way to go.
Simply start a Com project.
Go in the Com wizard and create the interface to all your routines.
The wiz'd will create the shell of the routines.
copy and paste your Dll''s code into those shells (they're just like taco shells).
build, serve hot.

Tim
0 Kudos
maria14
Novice
Thanks so much for the prompt response. What do I do with all the static libraries and block data commons? Is it straightforward to link them inside a COM?