Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Can I integrate LESS compilation into an existing JQM-based XDK project?

Andre_G_1
Beginner

Greetings,

I come from a web development background, but I am relatively new to Intel XDK.. At the moment I'm looking into updating a jQuery Mobile based project one of my work colleagues created in an older version of XDK (not sure what version specifically).

The project contains a series of LESS files in the "/www/css/index" folder, but I can't work out how to compile them through the XDK interface. We've got a custom jQuery Mobile theme file, loading all our app styles in stylesheets after this, but now that the stylesheet is growing, it's become difficult to maintain all our colour and element spacing rules.

I found a plugin for Brackets editor that handles the automatic compilation of less files, but I cannot find any way to make it exclude files that I'm importing into our "main" file, so simply opening one of the imported files compiles it immediately.

Do I need to run a separate external process to watch these files and compile my stylesheets in a sensible manner, or can XDK actually handle this for me?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee

Andre -- Yes, when I'm referring to "App Designer" I'm referring to that "Design" view on the Develop tab. If your app is an App Designer project, opening the index.html file will present those CODE and DESIGN options. If you do as you stated, start with a blank template and uncheck the "use App Designer" option, you will never see that "Design" view (when viewing the index.html file).