Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Expiration of student version

Brynne_N_
Beginner

Hello,

I am a college student and I recently downloaded the student version of Intel Parallel Studio XE 2017 Cluster Edition for Windows. However, I was surprised to receive a notification last night that my license will expire in one week, only about a month after I downloaded it. I cannot find any information on the webpage about license expiration times for the student version. Navigating to a page about renewal options only tells me when my license expires, but does not tell me how to renew.

Is the student version supposed to expire in such a short time? Will I have to re-install the software every month, or is there a way to renew the license? 

Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Alexandra_S_Intel

Brynn,

First of all, student licenses are supposed to last 12 months, but I want to clarify that the expiration of a license is calculated from the date of registration, not the date of download. If you wait until 6 months after registration to download and use the product, you will only have 6 months left to use it.

Secondly, I looked you up in our database. You actually have four currently active serial numbers for student editions of Intel® Parallel Studio XE Cluster Edition for Windows*. All four of them were registered in 2016.

1. Registered in March, will expire March 26th 2017. This is likely the one that you're getting expiration notices for.
  2. Registered in August, will expire this August.
  3. Also registered in August, one day after the previous one. Will expire in August, one day after the previous one.
  4. Registered in September, will expire this September.

So yes, you have a serial number expiring next week. But you have three others for the same product that will last until August at least. You should be fine. :)

- Alex

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Alexandra_S_Intel

Brynn,