Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Facebook 3rd party plug-in walkthrough

Hooman_F_
Beginner

I am new to the XDK platform.  I am trying to use the Facebook Connect plugin listed under the Featured plug-ins of the project.  I have checked the box and provided my App ID and Name.  The Wizcorp site the plug-in refers to (https://github.com/Wizcorp/phonegap-facebook-plugin/) shows the javascript calls to make to login, example:

var fbLoginSuccess = function (userData) {
    alert("UserInfo: " + JSON.stringify(userData));
}

facebookConnectPlugin.login(["public_profile"],
    fbLoginSuccess,
    function (error) { alert("" + error) }
);

I have a button in my app that I click to invoke the login function above, but nothing happens.  Can someone provide some step-by-step instructions on how to use this plug-in?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee
0 Kudos
Amrita_C_Intel
Employee

Hi,

When I executed above specified link sample, the app was running.So below is the part of that sample code for Login.

var login = function () {
                if (window.cordova.platformId == "browser") {
                    var appId = "your app ID"// Specify your App id here
                    facebookConnectPlugin.browserInit(appId);
                    alert(JSON.stringify(facebookConnectPlugin))
                }
                facebookConnectPlugin.login( ["email"], 
                    function (response) { alert(JSON.stringify(response)) },// Success Message
                    function (response) { alert(JSON.stringify(response)) });// Failure Message
            }

I believe that you need to specify your app Id if it is not updating in index.html.

0 Kudos
Hooman_F_1
Beginner