Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17060 Discussions

Outside/sunlight functionality and Linux support

Charles_W_
Beginner

Hello,

I'm a graduate student at NC State University.  My research group is working on a project for the North Carolina Department of Transportation to use Quadrotor UAVs to assist in 3D mapping.  As part of that project, we are trying to determine the best way to construct a 3D model of a bridge after flying around it.

The Realsense sensor seems perfect for a SLAM application like this (and ground robot mapping/navigation).  The key question is whether or not the sensor can work outside in direct sunlight.  Some things I have read claim the sensor is purely sterio vision based and can function perfectly outside.  Others have claimed that it is a structure light sensor (like its predecessor, the Creative Senz3D sensor) and will have the same difficulties as sensors such as the Kinect or Primesense Capri.  So...  If I may ask, does the Realsense sensor work outside, pointed at objects in direct sunlight?

My other question relates to library support.  I understand that the sensor currently supports only Windows 8.  There is however, efforts to port it to Android (presumably to go on some of the tablets).  If I may ask, since Android is based on top of Linux, is there likely to be Linux support any time soon?  It would be very handy if there was, as I believe the majority of mobile robots are Linux based (and Willow Garage's ROS is primarily Linux based).

Thanks,

Charlie West

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Colleen_C_Intel
Employee

One other "limitation" to consider is the range of the camera. The current front-facing Windows Real Sense cam is limited to just over 1 meter so probably not sufficient. There are plans for additional rear facing cameras in multiple OS but I don't know the range of those at this time.

0 Kudos
Andradige_S_Intel