Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17060 Discussions

Transferring program from a mainframe to a PC

Intel_C_Intel
Employee
I am an engineer trying to compile and run a Fortran77 program from a mainframe onto a PC using CVF. I have been getting some reoccuring errors that I can debug individually, but tend to show up again later. The most common ones are:

severe(161): Program exception - array bounds exceeded
severe (64): Input conversion error

At first I assumed that they were formatting errors, and tried to adjust accordingly. I also upgraded hoping that could help as well. However, it appears that the formatting in both the input source and within the program correspond. I am wondering if there is anyone familiar with programs from mainframes that could suggest another approach to finally debugging this program. I have noticed several differences in the way that this was programmed 30 years ago as opposed to how I was taught.

Thanks for any input.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Intel_C_Intel
Employee
Hi,
If by mainframe you mean 370/390 and possibly VM, I've programmed in that environment for about 20 years. Aside for a VERY small number of extensions, VS FORTRAN is pretty much standard (IBM was never big on adding extensions, at least under VM). I would guess that this is a bug in the source code that simply wasn't detected by the mainframe compiler. I'd be happy to take a quick look if you have a souce extract for testing.
0 Kudos
Intel_C_Intel
Employee
Array Bounds Exceeded - 30 years ago, Fortran compilers did not check array bounds, hence your program would have run without complaint on that score. What it was actually doing was reading or setting the value(s) of the next variable(s) along in memory, hence the program results might possibly be interesting, to say the least.