Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

UMPC software development tools

Anonymous60
Beginner

Hi, I am a developer studying UMPC. I want to start developing software onto UMPC, but I do not have any device yet. could anyone share how to build UMPC apps on PC, and any tools available to test the software?

also what's UMPC in the market good for software development?

ruby chuyn

0 Kudos
9 Replies
James_M_Intel1
Employee

Ruby,

The good news is that developing software for UMPC is a lot like developing for desktops, laptops, and tablets. Of course there are some differences but by and large you can use the same tools you use for other platforms. If you are programming for Microsoft Windows you should look into getting a copy of Microsoft Visual Studio and the Windows Platform SDK. If you program for Java, get the Java development tools. If you are programming for Linux, get the GNU development tools for Linux. These are the same tools that run on desktops, laptops and tablets and mentioned above. In fact, many times you can develop your UMPC software on one of these other system and occasionally run it on an UMPC to check that things work as expected. In many cases you can also remote debug the applications between the two systems. You could also install the development tools directly on the UMPC. The only drawback to this is that UMPCs have less memory and hard drive space than the other platforms so the tools run a little slower, but it can be done.

For test software, again, UMPC devices are simply x86 computers which may have a few components missing (i.e. no mouse and no keyboard unless you connect them through a docking station or a USB connection, smaller screen) so you can also use any of your favorite test software such as NUnit, JUnit, CPPUnit and there are many others out there.