Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Unity 5 released today

MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Hi folks, 

Unity 5 has emerged from beta and is now available for download by anyone from today if you want to give it a try. 

http://unity3d.com/

0 Kudos
13 Replies
samontab
Valued Contributor II

Do you know if the Intel RealSense camera is supported in v5 free as well?

0 Kudos
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

I don't know, I haven't tried it.  You would imagine that they would include the latest patches but we'll have to wait for someone to download and try it!

0 Kudos
Tyler_K_
Beginner

The big announcement from today was not just that Unity 5 was released today, but also that the free version is now called the personal edition and has all of the functionality of the professional version. So plugins and everything else should all work just fine.

0 Kudos
Wezley_S_
New Contributor I

Being a game developer myself, I am extremely excited about Unity5! 

I finally get to implement RealSense technology into all of my games! I just wish Unity5 was released 6 months earlier so I didn't have to build a custom engine for my RealSense App, but I am happy that I did build my own engine for the compeition because I learned so much.

0 Kudos
samontab
Valued Contributor II

Good point Tyler.

So, that means that Unity 5 Personal (free) may potentially also work with R1 SDK... interesting... (Unity 4 free needs R2 SDK)

0 Kudos
Vidyasagar_MSC
Innovator

Great News coming from GDC15...Unreal game engine made free.Unity 5 in-house with personal edition for free.

Have to try RealSense on Unity 5.

0 Kudos
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

I just downloaded the free Personal version of Unity 5.  The camera didn't work and gave the 'missing libpcx' message we used to get before Unity added the recent RealSense driver patch.  My project wouldn't run and neither would the samples.