Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

iTPM vs HW TPM

Raoul
Novice

Hi all,

I'm a PhD student at KU Leuven and I'm looking to buy a new system for my research. It should have extensive virtualization support (EPT, Direct I/O, ...). Since one of the first things I'm going to do is do some benchmarks on TPM performance, and that's where the problem starts, it should also provide an integrated TPM chip. So I was looking at the DQ77CP motherboard[1]. While on a comparison page it states that it is equipped with an iTPM, it does not specify this in any other documentation that I found. It does state that it supports Advanced Management Technology (AMTv8.0). Does this always include an iTPM? The technical document specification states that it is shipped with an Nuvoton NPCT420 TPM. So is it possible to switch between the TPMs (which would be great, by the way)? How exactly?

[1] http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/db-dq77cp/sb/CS-033591.htm

Thanks in advance!

Raoul

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Gael_H_Intel

You might want to checke http://ark.intel.com - You can find pretty good details of processor/board  support on this page.

0 Kudos
Gael_H_Intel

According to ark.intel.com the DQ77CP board does support TPM version 1.2. It seems that on the system you are referring to, the microcontroller is a nuvoton product.  There are other companies that have microcontrollers but I don't know how trivial it would be to change them out or if you would even want to do that.

0 Kudos
Raoul
Novice