Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Measuring BTB misses VS Predictor Miss for Branches vTune 2013

Jeff_Johnson
Beginner

Hello all,

I am an undergrad workign on a performance profiling project. I specifically am measuring branch-miss impact on a bit of code using the Amplifier XE 2013 suite (vTune). I have found out where the highest branch miss rates occur. 

My current goal is to come up with some kind of confirmation that this is indeed where the misses are happening. My section of code contains 27 branch-like statements (if, else if) that are condition based. I have successfully found a way to change these conditional branches into indirect jumps. 

We are doing this on i5 Sandy Bridge 2400 chips running under Ubuntu 12.10. My understanding of Intel branch prediction breaks down into 2 parts. The predictor and the target buffer. The predictor does just that, predicts taken or not taken on conditional jumps using the branch history table and other means. The target buffer predicts WHERE that jump is going based on where it went last time that specific jump was encountered. 

With my modified code, I have successfully bypassed the branch predictor (no condition to test for a jump). This is confirmed via dissassembly, I see a jmpq *(register). However, my indirect jumps are still victim to misses in the branch target buffer, and what I have noticed is that my runtime is actually WORSE by switching my conditional branches over to indirect jumps. This does make sense because I am calculating my jump address (hence the indirectness) and therefore the BTB has a much harder time prediciting it(large number of possible addresses I'm jumping to).