Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

PCM Processor not supported

Jeremie_Lagraviere

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in the Intel PCM environment and I am trying to understand what's going on :)

So I have downloaded and compiled the Intel PCM on my laptop. I have started to code some stuff to see how it goes and also I am trying to use the ready-made utility given in PCM 2.8.

For example I am running this on my machine:

sudo ./pcm-power.x --external_program /home/mrjay/Desktop/Compilers/BerkeleyUPC/bin/upcrun cg.A.O3.4

And I get this output:

Intel(r) Performance Counter Monitor V2.8 (2014-12-18 12:52:39 +0100 ID=ba39a89)

Power Monitoring Utility
 Copyright (c) 2011-2014 Intel Corporation
Number of physical cores: 4
Number of logical cores: 8
Number of online logical cores: 8
Threads (logical cores) per physical core: 2
Num sockets: 1
Physical cores per socket: 4
Core PMU (perfmon) version: 3
Number of core PMU generic (programmable) counters: 4
Width of generic (programmable) counters: 48 bits
Number of core PMU fixed counters: 3
Width of fixed counters: 48 bits
Nominal core frequency: 2400000000 Hz
Package thermal spec power: 47 Watt; Package minimum power: 0 Watt; Package maximum power: 0 Watt; 
Unsupported processor model (60).
Cleaning up
 Freeing up all RMIDs

Yay!

So my CPU is not compatible. And at some point I do not get how, what and where.

My computer is equipped with a: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz

I am running with Linux x64 3.13.0-24-generic #47-Ubuntu SMP

And this CPU is not compatible ? Is it right ? Even if part of the PCM code is running on it...I mean I can create an instance of the singleton and get some info out of it, but that's it ?