Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

Shared vs Unshared L3 hits?

dsf423
Beginner

I'm new to performance monitoring and I want to make sure I understand everything that goes into calculating the L2 hit ratio.

In the source code for the Intel PCM software, the L2 hit ratio is calculated as follows:

uint64 hits = L2Hit;
uint64 all = L2Hit + L2HitM + L3UnsharedHit + L3Miss;
if (all) return double(hits) / double(all);

The variable name L3UnsharedHit seems to imply that there's something else called an L3SharedHit, which would presumably happen when a load request misses in the L2 but is present in a separate socket's L3 cache. Is there such a thing? Do modern processors with QPI derive any benefit from finding a cache line in another socket's L3, versus having to go out to memory?

Also, I assume the variable L2HitM means the number of misses in the L2, but that doesn't make sense with the variable's name. I haven't been able to track down exactly what event number and umask that corresponds to in the PMU. Is there a better interpretation?

Thanks for your time,
David

0 Kudos
6 Replies
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

None of this stuff is easy... :-(

There are two important caveats with any attempt to measure cache hit ratios on recent Intel processors:

1. The primary event used to count hits (MEM_LOAD_UOPS_RETIRED.L2_HIT) only counts demand loads that miss the L1 and hit in the L2.   It does not count prefetches that bring the data from the L2 to the L1 in advance of the load.  Whether that is what you want to count as a "hit rate" or not depends on whether you are thinking about spatial locality (prefetchability) or temporal locality (data re-use).

This event also does not count store misses (RFOs) that miss in the L1 and hit in the L2.