Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

determine memory subsystem utilization

SB17
Beginner

I am not an expert in memory and maybe I'm wrong . Correct if wrong.

Bandwidth some program ( obtained for example from hardware counters) is not always a indicator of memory subsystem utilization. Different patterns of memory access, the mixture calculations, load / store memory, different bufer size and etc. must be differently utilization memory subsystem.

Is it possible to compare the throughput obtained using hardware counters with STREAM bench result and based on the STREAM results say about the degree of utilization of subsystem memory?

Or the degree of load memory subsystem you can get like some hardware counters or any of other indicators such as Linux ?

Sorry for the philosophical question

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Patrick_F_Intel1
Employee

Hello Black,

So... is bandwidth a good measure of memory system utilization?

I'm sure Dr. McCalpin will have a better answer but here goes.

Here is maybe the easiest answer... if you are getting bw performance close to STREAM then you are probably close to maxing out the 'achievable utilization'. You might have very low pages faults/load, high misses outstanding per clocktick.

At the other end of the spectrum are things like random memory latency benchmarks where each thread has only 1 one miss outstanding per clocktick, each load is causing a page walk/miss. Large servers reading big databases can have similar performance. Depending on one's point of view, a cpu running a workload like this has hit its "achievable utilization" even though the bw is much lower than STREAM. This is one reason why hyper-threading (HT) has helped servers so much... you have additional HT cpus able to have more misses outstanding per socket.