Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

hardware performance counters

NPund
New Contributor I

Hi all,

Thank you for all the previous help as I am still new to performance counters.

So, I understood there are 8 general purpose counters and 3 fixed counters per core.

I can use rdmsr to read the counter values at addresses 0xc1, 0xc2 (for general) and 0x309,0x30a, 0x30b for fixed.

I also tried intel pcm from github but that supports only specific hardware events which I can monitor.

So my question is:-

1. How can I map specific hardware event to one of the general purpose counter and read it?

2. wrmsr doesn't work on ubuntu 16 - pwrite: operation not permitted. Any work around?

3. Also, can perf allow us to access specific register to pin the event to?

I have Kaby Lake microarchitecture. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Thomas_G_4
New Contributor II

Hi,

There are 8 general-purpose counters when HyperThreading is disabled. When it is activated each SMT thread has 4 general-purpose counters. There are always 3 fixed counters independent of activated or deactivated HyperThreading.

1.)
The general-purpose counters consist of a pair of registers. One to configure the event and one for counting. The configuration registers start at 0x186 and the counter registers start at 0x0C1 (second is 0x187 and 0x0C2 and so forth). So when you want to map an event to the first general-purpose counter, configure the event at 0x186 and read the results from 0x0C1. There is also a config register that covers all core-local registers (0x38F), an overflow status register (0x38E) and an overflow control register (0x390).
For the fixed-purpose counters you probably need the control register (0x38D) as well. There you start/stop/configure the fixed events. The configuration options are pretty limited.

2.)