Software Tuning, Performance Optimization & Platform Monitoring
Discussion regarding monitoring and software tuning methodologies, Performance Monitoring Unit (PMU) of Intel microprocessors, and platform updating.

request for a demo project of using AVX asm

Wei_Z_Intel
Employee

Hi

I'm studying and trying to use AVX-256/512 instructions/intrinics, but I could not find a good demo/example for new starters.  If there is a simple example project with c code and AVX-related asm code to run, it may help a lot. Could you send me one such example project?

Thank you

John

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Thomas_W_Intel
Employee
0 Kudos
Wei_Z_Intel
Employee

Hi Thomas,

Thank you for the fast replies and good help.Your blogs help a lot.

One more quesiton is related to asm code,  I actually also try to compile and run asm code, I added an asm files(file postfix is asm) into the Source Files of the VS Project(I used vs2013 integrated with intel parallel studio xc2015) and try to compile and run, but it looks that the project compiles all c/c++ source files except the asm files, did I do it wrong?  Can you help to clarify, or coudl you send related example project to me if have?

Thank you

John

0 Kudos
Bernard
Valued Contributor I

You can use inline assembly instead or better use intrinsics.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4548763/compiling-assembly-in-visual-studio

0 Kudos
Wei_Z_Intel
Employee

Hi iliyapolak,

Thanks a lot for your help. I tried inline assembly, but when I run it in release mode, it has issue, Can you help to take a look if there is issue?

Below is general C code:

void complexVec_dotProduct_General_C(float *inputPtr1, float *inputPtr2, float *outputPtr, int numData)
{
    int idxData;
    float data1Re, data2Re;

#pragma ivdep
    __assume_aligned(inputPtr1, 64);
    __assume_aligned(inputPtr2, 64);
    __assume_aligned(outputPtr, 64);

for (idxData = 0; idxData < numData; idxData++)
    {
        data1Re = inputPtr1[idxData];