Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7368 Discussions

Ubuntu 18.04 (Kernel 5.11) Bluetooth Failing

jardineworks
Novice

Hey Guys, 

I'm hoping that this is showing up in the right area -- it's my first time posting in this forum. I recently received a Razer Blade Pro (2021) laptop. I removed the Windows installation and have instead installed Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. Right out the gate I ran into a couple of issues -- the Wifi and Bluetooth. I upgraded my kernel to 5.11 and install the Wifi drivers in the /lib/firmware directory. That got me past the Wifi issue. I'm not trying to resolve the Bluetooth issues. The drivers appeared to be missing so I installed the 

ibt-0041-0041.sfi, ibt-0041-0041.ddc

files into /lib/firmware/intel, restarted and that seemed to resolve the missing drivers issue. Sadly though, I still don't have it working. When I am in the GUI it looks like the bluetooth is turning on and off (there is a flickering type behaviour). When I use 

dmesg | grep -i bluetooth 

I have some output that I think is trying to describe the problem. Here is would it shows --

[  134.125688] Bluetooth: hci0: Bootloader timestamp 2019.40 buildtype 1 build 38
[  134.125747] Bluetooth: hci0: Found device firmware: intel/ibt-0041-0041.sfi
[  134.125751] Bluetooth: hci0: Invalid CSS Header version
[  134.125854] Bluetooth: hci0: Intel reset sent to retry FW download
[  134.720620] Bluetooth: hci0: Device revision is 0
[  134.720632] Bluetooth: hci0: Secure boot is enabled
[  134.720636] Bluetooth: hci0: OTP lock is enabled
[  134.720640] Bluetooth: hci0: API lock is enabled
[  134.720644] Bluetooth: hci0: Debug lock is disabled
[  134.720648] Bluetooth: hci0: Minimum firmware build 1 week 10 2014
[  134.720655] Bluetooth: hci0: Bootloader timestamp 2019.40 buildtype 1 build 38
[  134.720732] Bluetooth: hci0: Found device firmware: intel/ibt-0041-0041.sfi