FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5938 Discussions

Help required on Ethernet with FPGA

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi .. 

I'm a student and I'm working on a project which involves a design that has NiOS II processor, DDRSDRAM, SSRAM, a custom Ethernet MAC and other components and I've to run an application on it.. I use NiOS II embedded Evaluation board(Cyclone III), quartus 8.1 web edition.  

Since I'm new to Altera, I would like to start with a simple design with an ethernet MAC , then send and recieve packets through it. I'm not strong in Ethernet concepts too. I feel that the design with TSE MAC and socket server example are too high at this level of me to understand. 

So can anyone send me a design which has a MAC and also tell me how to send and recieve packets over it? If possible, can you send me supporting documents for mastering the concepts of ethernet.  

Thanks and Regards 

Renu:)
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This seems to be a recurring theme. People are wanting something simpler than the ethernet example that Altera is offering. 

I really think that the Simple Socket Server example is the quickest and easiest way for you to get ethernet running. What part of it specifically is making you hesitate? 

As an alternative to the TSE MAC, I would recommend using the "Avalon OpenCores MAC".  

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3665 

And not just because I made the port. It's one single drop-in component vs. the 4-5 required for the TSE MAC. It's easier to use. And it should drop right in and work with the Simple Socket Server example.