Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20707 Discussions

Cyclone II programming and verification using JTAG

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi people, 

I'm a software engineer and quite new to Altera. 

For our new product we have an ARM9 processor, Flash memory connected to this processor, Linux 2,4 running and an Cyclone II FPGA for general IO support. Currently the FPGA's PS programming pins are directly connected to some ARM9 pins, and I'm able to successfully configure the FPGA from the ARM9 using a Linux kernel module driver (I am not using any PC software for this). 

We might get problems in the field though, as our product will be out in the rain, sun, and every other weather phenomena you can think of, for weeks or months at a time powered on. Now we are looking for a method to verify the current FPGA configuration at certain time intervals. My hardware engineer collegues pointed me to the JTAG protocol, which can also be used for programming the FPGA (I am new to JTAG also:( ). I know that during programming, I can also verify the bits that I program, because I can read them back. I need a method though that can verify (without re-programming) the FPGA content, basically readout the current configuration. 

Is this possible at all ?:confused:  

Is JTAG the correct interface for this ? 

Can someone point out HOW to do this (from the ARM9 under linux) ? 

Has anyone got source code for this ? 

P.S. I cannot use solutions from byteblaster. These are only helpful if they expose which JTAG stuff I have to use. 

Thanks, Bart:cool:
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I find it odd that you feel your product will not work under those conditions. 

Cellular base stations exist in those (and worse) conditions on a daily basis (and they are using FPGA's). ((I assume that the board is not really directly exposed to those elements, but is in an enclosure - correct?))