Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

A noob in need!!!

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I just want to say that I am pretty much a complete noob with regards to Quartus II, VHDL and FPGAs in general so please bear with me, and any help or guidance is very much appreciated. 

I am using the Quartus II 10.0 sp1 web edition software along with a .rbf loader to load the compiled programs onto the chip. I am using the MORPH-IC-II board from FTDI which has a cyclone II ESP2C5F256C8 and an FTDI FT2232HQ chip. 

I have been tasked with programming an FPGA to take a 24 bit input and a clock line, basically put this into a massive FIFO then send the data using over USB using the FTDI chip. 

I think the easiest way to do this will be to use an 8bit and very deep fifo, and a demultiplexor to put the data into the fifo. 

But as I said I am a complete noob, to all of this so am taking baby steps! 

The first thing that I have been trying to do is get the FT245 style interface working between the FT2232 chip and the Cyclone II.  

At the moment I am trying to echo a character back to hyperterminal that is sent to the dev board over USB and I have been struggling even with this. I have tried using bidir pins for my 8 data channels in the FT2232 to Cyclone II interface with an ALT_IOBUF connected to it, going to a DFF and back to the output part of the ALT_IOBUF. My problem is probably within my control logic, but also I have been struggling to find out wether the OE pin of the ALT_IOBUF is active high or active low. i.e. whether putting a 0 in makes it an output or an input. I have been assuming it is active low so far.