Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

Call graph with dynamic instrumentation

abhising
Beginner
Hi All,
I am new to VTune and have a couple of questions:
a. I am trying to generate a call graph for my application on linux. When I start VTune for graph generation, the log says Static Instrumentation started. Does that mean that the results in the graph will not be based on the actual CPU usage of my code executing on the machine? If that is so, then how do I configure the graph to collect results dynamically, similar to the Sampling Wizard? And what is VTune presenting the results based on if it is not profiling the application from the CPU?
b. Is there a way to filter/profile a particular shared object file for an application? Since there are many .so as part of the application, the entire process of call graph generation takes over 2 hrs.
c. How helpful/different is running VTune over a debug binary vs a simple binary?
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks,
Abhi
0 Kudos
6 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III
Call graph instrumentation may add significant overhead; it may not reflect accurately the usage of your optimized code outside call graph. If you are running on linux, or with certain other compilers on Windows, you can get call graph with other profilers (e.g. gprof) with less overhead. There isn't sufficient information available for call graph profiling without some form of instrumentation; gprof does it by adding a monitor function layer for each function call which records who called and (separately, not by caller) totals up time.
Event sampling is most often done on an optimized build with debug symbols; possibly one without interprocedural optimizations. Debug symbols don't have signficant influence on performance, and allow the VTune analyzer to point to your source code. Optimization usually does influence performance, if you are interested in performance profiling.
0 Kudos