Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4992 Discussions

Cannot connect VTune to remote Ubuntu from MacOS after updating past 2022.1.0

AAM
Beginner

Hi. My development machine is a MacBook Pro running MacOS 11.6.5 Big Sur. I've been using VTune fine for several years, connecting to our Ubuntu machines running 20.04 LTS Focal. Most recently I was on VTune 2022.1.0, which worked perfectly even just this morning.

Today a colleague upgraded from VTune 2020 to 2022.2.0, and his previously working setup stopped being able to connect. I tried a similar upgrade - going to 2022.3.0 in my case - and have found the same thing. VTune now refuses to connect, and just gives the error "VTune cannot detect remote machine configuration". This happens even though the remote machine is still running, and is pingable and I can SSH into it fine. I'm using simple user@ipaddress style in the SSH destination field. Everything seems exactly as it was before my upgrade from 2022.1.0, but it's just stopped being able to connect. It worked fine on the older version; I ran the installer to upgrade; and from the new version it simply won't connect.

Is there a known issue here? I read in the release notes that 2022.3.0 removed support for certain older CPUs; but these problems are evident even to colleagues using 2022.2.0, and the machines in question have modern processors anyway.

Is there any way to downgrade to the older version in the mean time? I can't find download links for older versions on the VTune web pages, though the 2022.3.0 release notes state we should use them for older processors as mentioned above.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
AlekhyaV_Intel

Hi,

Thank you for posting in Intel communities. There might be one of the two possibilities of why you are facing this kind of issue.