Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4998 Discussions

Error: Failed to configure the collector.

Ron_B_
Beginner
Hi,

I'm a newbie to VTune running V9.0 on RHEL4U4. I'm profiling a large (50MB) EDA Linux application. The "First Use" sampling activity works fine.

When I run the same configuration as a "Call Graph" activity, the activity aborts with an error popup dialog saying, "Error: Failed to configure the collector". This occurs apparently before the application begins execution. I could not locate debug information and could not turn up a definition of the error message in the program help or this forum.

Any suggestions? Could the executable size be exceeding a limit?

Thanks,
Ron

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Ron_B_
Beginner
A configuration change cleared up the error message. This issue has been resolved.

0 Kudos
slowturtle
Beginner
Hi Ron:

I am useing the newest version of Vtune on the Linux and got the idetical error message.

Woudl you please share your experience on how did you change the configuration to resolve this problem?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Ron_B_
Beginner
It's been awhile, but if memory serves, this problem was caused by running VTune on a wrapper script instead of the executable program itself. My impression is that the sampling activity was able to resolve symbolic links (symlinks) in the shell script, while the call graph activities could not.

Perhaps one of the VTune developers can confirm if this is expected behavior?

The fix was to run VTune on the executable itself, not on a shell script that calls the executable. In general, this seems a better approach to avoid problems.

Ron

0 Kudos
slowturtle
Beginner
Dear Ron:

Thank you for the quick response. I am running the vtlec (Vtune 9.0) on a Linux system.
The application that I tried to profile is a Linux executable and it is compiled with Intel's C++ compilee (icc) using the "-g -O2" flags.

We recently migrated to the VTune 9.0.